Her Name Will Be Pelé *

* No, her name won’t REALLY be Pelé, Dad. It’s a joke.  

I’ve been feeling the baby kick for about 2 weeks now, fairly consistently. My husband felt her for the first time over the weekend.

The first time I felt her kick, I *thought* I’d feel like this:

Yay! Sunshine, and Rainbows and Warm Fuzzy Feelings!

Instead, for a moment, I really thought it was this:

It must have been the burritos last night...

And when my husband felt her, he made the comment that it was more like this:

And now that she’s kicking more consistently, I’m starting to wonder if I’m going to develop calluses on the inside of my uterine wall. She just keeps on kicking, flipping, and doing her acrobatic thing, which I am thankful for. It’s putting all the sickness, mental fog, and clothes that don’t fit anymore into some sort of exciting context.

But for now, I will call her Pelé. I hope she loves soccer as much as I did, and is better at it than I was. It looks like she’s getting a head start on training.

5 thoughts on “Her Name Will Be Pelé *

  1. My boy is all over the place as well. At first I was was intrigued with each movement but now that it feels more like violent scratching (really, really low down there…) I am not quite as amused. He seems to freak out a little when I haven’t eaten in a bit, so maybe he is just hungry and reminding me to eat.

    • I’ve been getting more a few minutes after I do eat something – and it seems like she likes Canoli 🙂 So scratching…I’ll have to look out for that one! Thanks for the heads up!

  2. I like Pele. She’s a volcano goddess (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pele_(deity)). How cool is that? And she’s in a Tori Amos album (Boys for Pele). So, yeah, I understand it sounds cool, and nice idea, but best not to use in reality. Along those lines, I too wanted to name my daughter Phoenix…when I was about 13. I had a grand idea of having twins and the girl would be Phoenix and the boy would be Griffin. Oh budding nerdom.

  3. Pingback: Ten Things I Wish I Knew Before I Got Pregnant | Unexpected Things While Expecting

Leave a Reply

